Sameroom Common Questions and Answers:
- How does this work?
- What’s the difference between a Tube and a Portal?
- One of my chatrooms is relaying messages and I don’t know how to make it stop?
- Sameroom commands
- How many other rooms can be connected to mine with a Portal?
- Someone found my Portal and created a Tube to my room. How can I kick them out?
- I don’t see any unread messages or notifications
- People on the other side of my Campfire Tube can’t see my messages
- Some of my Skype groups aren’t coming up in Sameroom search
- Does Sameroom work with Facebook Messenger?
- What happened to your awesome Intercom↔Slack integration?
- Are you going to sell my chat history?
- What is the difference between limited and unlimited Tubes?
- How do I sign up or sign in with my email address?
- What is roomcoin?
- What happens if I remove a BridgeBot from my chat/group/room?
- How do I delete my account?
How does this work?
If you have access to two different teams, you can connect a chatroom in each with a tube:
If you don’t have access to the other team, or want to create a network of many teams, you can do that by opening a Portal. Each Portal has a unique URL you can share—others can create Tubes by navigating to your Portal URL:
What’s the difference between a Tube and a Portal?
A Tube is an actual connection maintained by the Sameroom servers between two “rooms” (channels, groups, flows).
A Portal is a URL, an invitation to your room. It is a key to creating tubes between two or more rooms. You can send a Portal URL to a customer or partner and when they use the "Connect" command with that URL, a tube is created.
One of my chatrooms is relaying messages and I don’t know how to make it stop?
If you see a Tube connected to your chatroom on the Manage page, you can delete the Tube by clicking on the “X” or pausing it by selecting “Pause”.
If you don’t see the Tube and don’t know who configured it, you can issue the “‑sameroom disable” command in your chatroom. For details, see the Disable Command section.
A list of available Sameroom commands and how to use them can be found in this article:
How many other rooms can be connected to mine with a Portal?
There is no pre-set limit to the number of rooms that can be connected. However, your Sameroom account plan may have a specific limit to the number of tubes that can be created.
Someone found my Portal and created a Tube to my room. How can I kick them out?
Follow these steps:
- Delete your Portal–this will prevent anyone else from connecting tubes to your room with the old link, but will not delete any of the current tubes.
- Delete the tube you don’t want connecting to your room.
I don’t see any unread messages or notifications
This problem exists with all platforms except Slack, Mattermost, Fleep, and Flowdock.
Since every message Sameroom sent to rooms you have connected comes from your account, this automatically marks the room as “read” for you. To overcome this, you can create a bot account, sign in to Sameroom with that account, and use the bot account to create tubes.
Once you do this, all new messages in your connected rooms will appear unread.
People on the other side of my Campfire Tube can’t see my messages
Campfire does not echo your own messages if you’re logged in from multiple clients. Since Sameroom acts as a Campfire client, it doesn’t see your messages.
To fix this, create a bot account in Campfire and connect your room from that account instead of your own.
For more information, see our Limitations section for Campfire.
Some of my Skype groups aren’t coming up in Sameroom search
If your Skype group was created a while ago, it may still be using the old Skype infrastructure, which Sameroom does not support. However, if all members of your group are in your contact list, you can copy the group to the new infrastructure by issuing the following command, in your Skype group:
This will create another Skype group with all the same people, but without the history. This group will appear in Sameroom search results (please wait 5 minutes).
For more information, see our Limitations section for Skype.
Does Sameroom work with Facebook Messenger?
Sameroom does not support Facebook Messenger, because Facebook Messenger doesn’t expose an API.
What happened to the Intercom↔Slack integration?
We had issues with Intercom’s API and had very little support from Intercom. For example, every time we had a problem, we had to explain—from scratch—the nature of the integration.
Are you going to sell my chat history?
Sameroom does not store any of your chat data–it only relays messages between chatrooms.
What is the difference between limited and unlimited Tubes?
Limited Tubes created by a particular account (say, a Skype user) can send up to 5 messages, collectively (all Tubes together), per day, with the counter resetting 24 hours after the first over-the-limit message. Service messages from Sameroom do not count toward this limit.
Unlimited Tubes will relay any number of messages, up to the rate limit allowed by participating chat systems.
How do I sign up or sign in with my email address?
You cannot sign up for Sameroom with an email address—you must use a third-party service to create your Sameroom account. We recommend using Twitter, even if you have no plans for Twitter integrations.
What is roomcoin?
Roomcoin is a reserved administrative feature that allows additional tubes to be added to a Sameroom service without changing the service plan.
- Each roomcoin is equal to one unlimited tube.
- Roomcoin codes may have an expiration date applied to them.
- If you have roomcoin to redeem, click here and insert your roomcoin code.
Note that roomcoin cannot be purchased, and is distributed at 8x8's discretion.
What happens if I remove a BridgeBot from my chat/group/room?
Removing a BridgeBot from a chat/group/room deletes all tubes connected to that chat/group/room via that BridgeBot.