Skip to main content
How to Delete a Sent Chat Message in 8x8 Work
8x8 Support

How to Delete a Sent Chat Message in 8x8 Work

 

Objective

Delete an 8x8 chat message that you sent. 

Applies To

  • Work for Desktop
  • Work for Mobile
  • Messaging

Limitations

The ability to delete chat messages applies only to those messages in chat conversations and rooms you yourself have sent. You cannot delete:

  • messages sent by other users and received/viewed by you
  • messages older than 12 hours
  • SMS messages (sent or received)

Procedure

  1. Click More Options (three dots) next to the message. 
  2. Click Delete.
    Screen Shot 2019-11-19 at 11.53.29 AM.png
  3. Click Delete.
    Screen Shot 2019-11-19 at 11.54.27 AM.png

"[This message was deleted]" will appear in the chat. 

Additional Information

Alternatively, messages can be edited instead of deleted.

Deleted messages cannot be recovered and redisplayed in the chat conversation or room.

Deleted messages are removed from the end user-visible chat conversation, but are preserved in the chat conversation archives available to 8x8 service administrators.

  • Was this article helpful?