Skip to main content
How to Update an E911 Address in 8x8 Work for Desktop (8x8 Express)
8x8 Support

How to Update an E911 Address in 8x8 Work for Desktop (8x8 Express)

Objective

Updating the E911 address in Work for Desktop.

E911, or Enhanced 911, is a means for wireless phone users in North America to provide more accurate location information when calling 911 emergency services. Providing this information within Work for Desktop settings will allow the proper emergency services to locate you more easily when calling from your 8x8 Work services. When calling 911 from 8x8 Work apps, emergency services will respond to the address listed in your E911 settings.

Applies To

  • Work for Desktop
  • 8x8 Express

Procedure

  1. Log in to Work for Desktop.
  2. From the left navigation, click the Settings (cog) icon.
  3. Click Account settings.
    e911-1.png
  4. From the Account settings submenu, click Emergency address.
  5.  In the Emergency address section, under Address, do one of the following:
    • To the upper right of the listed address, click Edit.
      e911-2.png
    • Select New address.

      Note: These instructions presume you want to add a new address for emergency services in the event of moving offices or working remotely. Same as the site address applies the general office address for your company site to your setup. Not applicable means an E911 address is not needed for this profile.

  6. Select a Country.
  7. Enter your Address. An automated service will validate the address.
    eye.png

    Tips:

    Remove apostrophes, from your address: e.g., "ONel" is accepted, "O'Nel" is not
    Remove the number mark (#) from your address: e.g., "Unit 13" is accepted, "Unit #13" is not
    Use clean numbers for secondary addresses: e.g., "Floor 13" is accepted, "13th Floor" is not

  8. Click Save.
    Emergency service not available for this address? The system may suggest validated alternatives matching your entry. Select the best one and click Save
  9. At the bottom of the Account settings page, click Save. You should see the message Settings saved successfully  at the top of the screen.