Skip to main content
Offboarding Users from Virtual Office
8x8 Support Knowledge Base

Offboarding Users from Virtual Office

Overview

In the event of an employee leaving the company, you might want to remove their user information from your account. This involves disabling the user's profile, clearing their profile information, and resetting their extension. The former user will no longer have login access to your 8x8 services.

However, there are some things to consider before you offboard user information in Account Manager. Please note that the user's chats, meeting history, and contact directory will be permanently deleted when you delete the account.

Things to Consider

What happens to the voicemails?

Voicemail messages are linked to the user's extension.

The following options are available for handling a user's voicemails:

  • Forward voicemails to another extension.
  • Delete voicemails from the extension. Keep in mind that if you delete voicemails, they are permanently deleted.
  • Download voicemails (Only for users with Visual Voicemail enabled). Note: You must download the voicemails before the user account is deleted.

What happens to the user's phone number?

The user's phone number is associated with an extension. The number can be reassigned to another extension or kept with the existing extension (to which you can then assign a new user profile).

What about my user's data?

Call data associated with the user, such as billing records and call history, is stored for analytical purposes and will not be deleted immediately. (This will be deleted after six months for users, except those on Virtual Office Analytics). This extension can also be reset to permanently delete the call data associated with the previous user.

What should I do to offboard the user's information from my Virtual Office system?

Disable the User's Account

This will remove all the user's information from the extension so that you can reassign it at a future date.

  1. Log into Account Manager.
  2. Go to Accounts > User Profiles.
  3. Locate the user you want to disable.
  4. Click Disable to the left of the user's name.
    1 Disable User-600x107.jpg
  5. On the confirmation pop-up, click Disable.
    2 Disable_User_Profile_Confirmation_Account_Manager-600x214.jpg

Clear the User's Profile

This will wipe the user's information from the extension to return the extension to its default information.

  1. In Account Manager, locate the extension for which you want to clear the user profile.
  2. Click Edit next to the extension you want to edit.
  3. Expand the Extension Information section.
  4. Click Clear User Profile.
    1 Clear_User_Profile_Account_Manager_1-600x267.jpg
  5. On the confirmation pop-up, click Clear.
    2Clear_User_Profile_Confirmation_Account_Manager-600x199.jpg

Reset the Extension in Account Manager

  1. In Account Manager, go to Phone System > View All Extensions > View.
  2. Click Edit next to the extension you want to edit.
  3. Expand the Extension Information section.
  4. Click Reset Extension.
    1 AM Reset Extenstion-600x269.jpg
  5. On the confirmation pop-up, click Reset.
    2 Reset Confirmation-600x201.jpg

 

  • Was this article helpful?