Skip to main content
How to Transfer a Call to Another Queue in Virtual Contact Center
8x8 Support

How to Transfer a Call to Another Queue in Virtual Contact Center

Objective

How to transfer a call to another queue in Virtual Contact Center.

Applies To

  • Virtual Contact Center AGUI
  • Call Transfer

Procedure

Virtual Contact Center allows agents to transfer an active call to another phone queue. Before transferring an active call to another queue, the agent handling the call should check the status of the destination queue and then transfer. 

To transfer an active phone interaction to a different queue:

  1. Announce to the current caller that you are going to transfer them to another department.
  2. Open the Phone tab, then click the Queues tab.
    • Agent Console does not place the phone interaction on line 1 on hold:
      Capture-transfertoanotherqueue-1.PNG
  3. Choose a queue, and click Transfer.
    • Note: Agents may experience some delay in accessing the entire list of queues whether or not they are part of them. An exclamation symbol next to the Transfer button indicates the partial loading of the queues. Depending on the number of queues and their sizes, it may take some time for the entire list to load.
      Capture-transfertoanotherqueue-2.PNG
      Agent Console transfers the phone interaction to the selected queue, then changes your status to Post Processing. The transferred call stays in the queue until answered by an available agent in the queue.
       
      • Note: If you wish to transfer to an unattended queue, you receive a warning about the non-availability of agents, or you may be blocked from transferring. You can disable the warning message by selecting Do not show this message again only if your Virtual Contact Center administrator has given you the right permission. Disabling the warning message prevents you from receiving this message again. Click Continue to transfer the interaction.
        Capture-transfertoanotherqueue-3.PNGCapture-transfertoanotherqueue-4.PNG
  4. Click End Post Processing to change your status to Available or click Work Offline if you need more time to complete any post-processing tasks.