Skip to main content
Remember Me Feature Is Not Working
8x8 Support

Remember Me Feature Is Not Working

 

Symptom

When using Work for Desktop, the user has to enter their password every time, even though the Remember Me option is checked.

Screen Shot 2020-12-15 at 12.45.10 PM.png

Applies To

  • Work for Desktop

Resolution

Quit Instead of Logging Out

Users who want to avoid having to re-authenticate on start-up should do both of the following.

  1. At the initial login screen, ensure the Remember Me box is checked.
  2. Select 8x8 Work Quit closing the application. (Do not select Log Out.)

Cause

There are several possible causes to this problem.

  • When ending the use of the 8x8 Work client, the user is selecting Log Out instead of Exit.
  • When a user logs out, the application will still remember the username, but will require a password to re-authenticate.
  • When a user exits the program (or closes the browser) without logging out, they will be able to start up with the same extension credentials without re-authentication the next time Work for Desktop is opened.
  • Was this article helpful?